Fri. Jul 12th, 2024


The Abia State Council of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) has inaugurated its Veterans Stakeholders Forum.

The Forum which is made up of select veterans and stakeholders in the pen profession, including former and serving Chairmen and Secretaries of the Council, journalists who have served or are still serving as Commissioners, Press Secretaries and Permanent Secretaries or had held other political offices.

Others are former Chairpersons of the Nigeria Association of Women Journalists , NAWOJ, as well as heads of Media Houses in the state.

At the inaugural meeting of the Forum held at the NUJ Secretariat, 66 Aba Road, Umuahia, the Council Chairman, Comrade Victor Ndukwe, explained that the Forum was put together to assist the Council and its leadership in galvanizing journalists for improved standing in the society to enable them to discharge their responsibilities as expected.

Comrade Ndukwe who is the Overseer of the Forum therefore charged members of the Forum to deploy their wealth of experience, contacts and reach for the advancement and wellbeing of the Council and the NUJ family in the state.

Chairman of the Forum, Sir Ambrose Nwachukwu, who was elected during the meeting, described the birth of the Forum as a milestone in the Media landscape of the state.

Sir Nwachukwu said the challenge of the group was to build a better Abia NUJ, particularly in terms of professionalism, and stressed the need for members to be committed to achieving the goals of the Forum.

The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Information, Sir Chris Onwegbu, who hosted the meeting, commended the Council for its initiative and enjoined members to live up to expectations, bearing in mind the constitutional roles of journalists.

Others elected into the executive of the Forum include Ezeogo Boniface Okoro – Secretary; Comrade Hyacinth Okoli – Public Relations Officer (PRO); Elder Ogbonnaya Iheaka – Provost and Pastor Ralph Egbu – Spiritual Director.

Other members present at the inauguration were Comrade Joghn Emejor, Sir Uzomba Ekwuribe, Sir Uchenna Dike, Prince Vincent Obike and Sir Chimdi Oluoha.


Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *